Rep. Cynthia Lummis and Sen. Mike Braun.
Rep. Cynthia Lummis and Sen. Mike Braun. Getty Images

Two GOP senators who had initially planned to object to the Electoral College vote counts with Sen. Ted Cruz explained why they didn’t, pinning the blame on the riots that took place at the US Capitol today.

Sen. Mike Braun of Indiana said: “I didn’t feel comfortable with today’s events even though I do believe that election integrity is still a valid issue. Many of us can still pursue it. … When today’s events unfolded, I could not dignify it even by withholding something I objected to.”

Asked why she didn’t vote to throw out Arizona’s election results, freshman Wyoming Sen. Cynthia Lummis pointed to “the activities of the day.”

But both Braun and Lummis declined to blame Trump for the violence and destruction in the Capitol.

The other senators who had initially signed onto Cruz’s effort but voted to reject the objection to Arizona: Sens. Marsha Blackburn of Tennessee, Bill Hagerty of Tennessee, Ron Johnson of Wisconsin, Steve Daines of Montana and James Lankford of Oklahoma.

GOP Sen. Mike Rounds, who didn’t sign on to Cruz’s effort and opposed the efforts to throw out the results, said of Trump’s rhetoric: “He most certainly did not help.”

The South Dakota senator added: “If anything, he urged in a very emotional situation very inappropriate action by people that appear to be his supporters.”

Source link